Frequently Asked Questions

Before contacting us, please browse our FAQ



SimpleMapp Hilfe (German only)

Die Benutzung vom SimpleMapp Cloud-CMS ist sehr einfach, und zur Einführung haben wir ein kleines Handbuch für Sie online gestellt.

Jetzt deutsches Benutzerhandbuch lesen

General

General Frequently asked questions about SimpleMapp


Can I import existing content / locations into SimpleMapp?

Yes. Use the import function in the web to import locations or places from a standard KML file into your app. If the import fails please double check for a valid KML source file with a name space of ‘http://www.opengis.net/kml/2.2’. After you finished the import, you can add more details (description, tagline, etc.), add pictures or organize them in categories.

What accounts to my cloud storage space needed?

All content (locations, events, pages, posts, pdfs, pictures, videos, audio files) of you or your location admins.

Can you add feature xyz to SimpleMapp?

Do you have a feature suggestion for SimpleMapp that others might also find interesting? We would love to hear your ideas! Please get in touch 🙂

What is the difference between an admin and an editor?

An admin is the “master user” of the guide that is created automatically with your email address when you sign up. He or she can change all the settings of the guide, like it’s name, it’s color scheme and it’s payment settings. The admin can create editor users which can create, update and delete locations, tags and media. Those rights can also be restricted individually by the admin.

Can you explain how the ratings work?

Specifically does a ‘visitor’ have to actually show up at the location before they can rate it?

No, currently all users of the app can rate a location even if they haven’t been at the location. But they can rate it only once. So it works very similar to the rating/review system of the Google Play or Apple App Store.

Can the admin control/remove the 'feedback/comments' with the rating?

The admin can remove single comments from within the backend.

Can I create content in the app?

No, not yet.

Can I as the Guide Admin control the content/quality of my Guide, e.g. delete user comments or censor Location Admins?

Yes, you can delete user comments for all locations/businesses that you manage. Once you invite Location Admins to manage their own location/business, only they themselves have control over their own location/business incl. their own content (like events or pages, etc). So you then cannot control their listing/content anymore. You can always contact your Location Admins directly via a contact form if problems occur. If they don’t obey your (self-determined) Guide’s rules, you can always deactivate their access or delete their account completely. If you delete their account, you regain control of their location/business: you then can change or delete parts (like comments, events, pages, …) or the complete location including all content.

Also, if you delete a location that has assoicated Location Admins or Location Editors, those will be deleted too and notfied via email, that they cannot login any more.

Your Guide. Your Rules.

Can the Location Admin change the location category after joining/claming?

No. However, once the Guide Admin approved the Join or Claim request of a new Location Admin (to a category he approved), the Guide Admin can still change the assigned category using the menu “Batch Jobs” like so:

  1. Navigate to “ADMIN – Batch Jobs” (only accessible as Guide Admin)
  2. Select Locations from the “Content Type” dropdown.
  3. Type the name of the location you want to delete the category from in the “Search” field.
  4. Select Remove Category from the “Batch Action” dropdown.
  5. Select the category in the “Category” dropdown, that you want to delete/unassign.
  6. Click the select checkbox next to the location that should be affected and click the “Execute batch” button.

The category will be removed from the location.

Can I unassign (delete) categories from many locations at once?

Yes. The Guide Admin can  change an assigned category using the menu “Batch Jobs” like so:

  1. Navigate to “ADMIN – Batch Jobs” (only accessible as Guide Admin)
  2. Select Locations from the “Content Type” dropdown.
  3. To select from which locations you want to delete the category from, use the “Selection” dropdown and / or the search field. With this, you can filter the locations.
  4. Now, select Remove Category from the “Batch Action” dropdown.
  5. Select the category in the “Category” dropdown, that you want to delete/unassign.
  6. Click the select checkbox next to the locations you want to delete/unassign the category from and click the “Execute batch” button.

The category will be removed from the selected locations.


Plans and Subscription

Billing and payment related questions and answers


Which payment methods do you offer?

We currently accept payments via credit card. We support Visa, MasterCard American Express.

Can I register without a credit card?

Yes. You can signup without providing any credit card details when registing for the Free plan.

Do I need to provide my credit card details for the SimpleMapp Free plan?

No. However, to upgrade to a paid plan (SimpleMapp Starter or SimpleMapp Pro) you have to provide your billing information (invoice address, credit card, and optionally VAT number).

Is my credit card information saved securely?

Absolutely. We do not save any billing or credit card information from you. SimpleMapp subscription based billing is handeled by Recurly and Braintree, which are trusted by thousands of companies worldwide (e.g. Adobe, Groupon, LinkedIn).

When will my credit card be charged?

Once you sign up for a paid plan we will charge you monthly (via Recurly). If you sign up at 5th May, you’ll receive the first invoice on 5th May, the second on 5th June, etc.

Can I upgrade to a better plan?

Yes. Simply click “Upgrade Plan” in the Plan / Subscription section of your app settings.

What happens to my subscription when upgrading from Starter to Pro plan?

Once you upgrade from SimpleMapp Starter to SimpleMapp Pro your credit card will be charged the fee for the SimpleMapp Pro plan. The SimpleMapp Pro plan will then turn active and you will benefit from the Pro features immediately. As a consequence, the SimpleMapp Starter subscription will be terminated and thus expires. Please note that we cannot refund any subscription fee in case a timely overlap of the two subscriptions occur; i.e. when your SimpleMapp Starter subscription is valid until the 31st and you upgrade to SimpleMapp Pro subscription on 25th of the same month we cannot refund days 26 to 31 of your SimpleMapp Starter plan. We suggest that you upgrade one day before your SimpleMapp Starter subscription period ends, to be sure the transition happens smoothly and you avoid ‘double’ charging.

Can I downgrade from a paid plan to a free plan?

Yes. You can downgrade to the SimpleMapp Free plan by canceling your subscription of a SimpleMapp Pro or Starter plan by clicking ‘Manage your account / subscription’ in the Plan / Subscription section of your app settings. Canceling your subscription will cause it not to renew. If you cancel your subscription, it will continue until your subscription period ends. Then, the subscription will expire and will not be invoiced again. Once your subscription expires, you will be downgraded to the SimpleMapp Free plan. As a consequence you will lose all the additional features of the paid plan and your editors won’t be able to log in any more.

Can I cancel my subscription?

Yes. You can cancel your subscription of a SimpleMapp Pro or Starter plan by clicking ‘Manage your account / subscription’ in the Plan / Subscription section of your app settings. Canceling your subscription will cause it not to renew. If you cancel your subscription, it will continue until your subscription period ends. Then, the subscription will expire and will not be invoiced again. Once your subscription expires, you will be downgraded to the SimpleMapp Free plan. As a consequence you will lose all the additional features of the paid plan and your editors won’t be able to log in any more.